top of page


There are 3 main types of CJD:  sporadic, inherited and acquired. For more information on the types of CJD as well as the signs and symptoms, take a look at the slider below.

Occurs spontaneously for unknown reasons all over the world

Caused by 1 of over 40 genetic mutations

Caused by the consumption of infected food or by accidental infection during a surgical or medical procedure


Inherited prion dieases (which include Fatal Familial Insomnia, Gerstmann-Straussler-Scheinker disease and CJD) are rare genetic conditions where one of the genes a person inherits from their parent (the prion protein gene) carries a mutation that causes prions to form in their brain during adulthood, causing the symptoms of CJD.


The symptoms of inherited CJD can develop at any adult age, but more typically in late middle age. 

Asset 6_2x.png
bottom of page